Share your Tables

Once your table fits your needs, that it has the right columns, settings, it's time to share it. After all, Collaborative Tables are designed for multiple users.

As long as you haven't shared a table, you can see the message below. Click on the green button to share your table.

You then need to decide who you want to share the table with. 3 options are offered and detailed below.

Once your table is shared, the table will show icons under the table name to remind you who has access to your table. Click on any of these icons to see and/or modify these permissions.

Click on the + at the right of these icons to grant access to other users.

This Sharing bar can only be seen by the table owners.

Option 1: Share with All your subscription users

This will grant access to this specific table to all your subscription users: all the users listed in your Subscription settings page. If users are later added to your subscription, they will also have access to this table.

You then need to decide what permissions you give them: what they can see and what they can modify.

First, decide what they will see when accessing the table:

Then, set their rights to modify or add rows to the table:

  • Nothing: Cannot add or edit any row. They will have a read-only access to this table.
  • Their own rows: Can add rows but edit only their own rows
  • All rows: Can add rows and edit any row in the table
It means that setting permissions only once can lead each user to see a different subset of your table!

Shortly after you click on Send Invite, RowShare will send an email to all your subscription members to let them know about your table.

For example, in the picture above, invited users will see all the rows, will be allowed to add new rows, but will only be allowed to modify the rows they have created or that have been reassigned to them.
Users registered in the subscription as Read-Only Users will never be allowed to write in a table, regardless of the permissions you grant them.

When your table is shared with all your users, an icon is added at the beginning of your Sharing bar above the table. It includes your subscription initials as well as a distinctive icon to remind you that this specific table can be accessed by everyone in your subscription.

Option 2: Allow External Access

This option makes your table available to anyone who knows its URL (web page address). Even if they don't have a RowShare subscription. External Access is read-only, and always shows the full table.

Click on the button to confirm that you want your table to be available to anyone. This can be changed later, of course.

Once it's done, you still have to actually share your table, by sending its link (URL) to your contacts, or by adding a link in your own web site.

Allow External Access requires the equivalent setting to be activated in the subscription settings. This can be done by a subscription Admin.

Once you have enabled External Access, you can see a planet icon below the table name to remind you that this is active. Click on it at any time to disable External Access.

Option 3: Share with specific Users or Groups

Sometimes you only want to share a table with some of your users or groups (subscription admin can create users and groups in RowShare Settings).

Pick one or several users or groups of users from a list before deciding what permissions you want to give them: what they can see and what they can modify.

First, decide what they will see when accessing the table:

Then, set their rights to modify or add rows to the table:

  • Nothing: Cannot add or edit any row. They will have a read-only access to this table.
  • Their own rows: Can add rows but edit only their own rows
  • All rows: Can add rows and edit any row in the table
It means that setting permissions only once can lead each user to see a different subset of your table!

Shortly after you click on Send Invite, RowShare will send an email to the selected users and group members to let them know about your table.

If you are subscription admin or security manager, you can enter email addresses instead of picking users from the list. If your subscription has available seats, they will be added to your subscription.
For example, in the picture above, invited users will see all the rows, will be allowed to add new rows, but will only be allowed to modify the rows they have created or that have been reassigned to them.
Users registered in the subscription as Read-Only Users will never be allowed to write in a table, regardless of the permissions you grant them.

Once your table is shared with at least one user or group, they are listed below the table name to remind you who has access to your table. Click on any of these icons to review or modify these permissions.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)