Subscription Settings

If you are a subscription Administrator, you see a Settings button in your RowShare home page toolbar:

Settings

This is where you define the appearance and security of your RowShare subscription. You can also upgrade, downgrade and cancel your subscription.

From here you can make the following changes:

  • Change your subscription name and logo.
  • Allow External Access: This allows table owners to open their tables to external users (anyone). If you allow this, your users will have a similar “Allow External Access” option in each of their tables, to decide table by table if it should be shared externally.
    When this option is enabled both at the subscription and table level, all the table rows can be seen by anyone who accesses the table URL.
    At any time, check this option to instantly limit access to your registered members only.
  • Hierarchical Access Rights: This option, enabled by default, lets managers see and edit anything their team can see or edit, on top of their personal permissions. This is a great way to configure a table letting each user see only his rows, and managers will automatically see their rows as well as all the rows owned by their team. This works only if you define managers in the Users tab (see below).

Users

This is where you invite users, and edit their attributes as explained below.

You can also grow and shrink your team size, with the button next to the team size.

  • Name: Regardless of the name users chose when they create their RowShare account, you define how they will be identified within your subscription.
  • Email: This is the unique identifier of each user, it can't be changed. Once invited, they have to connect to RowShare with the same email. Otherwise they won’t be able to access your subscription.
  • Manager: You can optionally define a manager for each member. If the Hierarchical rights are enabled (see the Settings paragraph in this page), this lets managers see their team data.
  • Groups: Groups of users can have common access rights. A user can be part of as many groups as needed. See the Groups paragraph in this page for more information.

You can activate and deactivate members as needed. Deactivating a member removes his access to your subscription. You do not pay for inactive users.

Super User Roles

Users can also be granted additional roles:

  • Super User: Gives access to all tables in the subscription with the same rights as the table owners.
  • Administrators have all these rights combined. The user who creates a RowShare Business subscription is Administrator by default.

Read-Only Users

Read-only users can access your subscription and browse the tables as any other user. There are two critical differences between read-only and regular users:

  • Obviously, they can't write! Regardless of the access rights set on a table, their access to the subscription tables is always read-only.
  • You can add more read-only users than your subscription user limit:
    • Free subscription can have up to 3 read-only users (on top of the 3 read-write users)
    • Paid subscriptions can have unlimited read-only users
Inactive and Read-Only users do not count against your Team Size / Maximum number of users.

Groups

Create groups, then assign groups to your users. This lets you share tables with groups instead of individual users and even assign rows to groups.

Groups simplify the management of folders and tables access rights.You can create groups as needed, such as Management, Marketing, Finance, HR, etc. If you would like to further refine your groups, create subgroups.

Users can be assigned to groups in the Users tab.

Plan and Billing

This last tab is covered in a separate help page.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)