Automatic Access Rights

RowShare permissions are based on an innovative concept: each row has an owner.

The fact that each row is owned by a user allows very efficient and secured sharing without spending time managing access rights user by user. You can also give users more rights on their rows (the rows they own) than on the rest of the table.

Click on Share above one of your tables to see and modify your table permissions:

You can then select the desired permission mode and choose what the users with access to the table (i.e. those who have its URL) can do.

You first decide what they will see when accessing the table:

  • Nothing: View no rows (your table is then private unless you define specific rights)
  • His/Her rows: Can only view their own rows
  • All rows: Can view all the table

You then set their rights to edit or add rows to the table:

  • Nothing: Cannot edit any row
  • His/her rows: Can only edit their own rows
  • All rows: Can add and edit all rows
If you decide that everyone can see all rows, then your table can even be read by users who do not have a RowShare account, or are not logged in.
On the other hand, to modify a RowShare table, one must always be connected to RowShare.

In the picture above, users will see the whole table, but will only be able to edit their own rows. Without having to set rights to rows row by row or user by user.

Of course, you can't let users modify something that they can't see.  For example, you couldn't grant users the permissions to modify all rows but to see only their own rows.

With RowShare Business, your table is secured by default: only members of your subscription can access your table. To open your table to external users, visit that page.

If you want to grant more rights to specific users, you have two options beyond Automatic Access Rights:


How did we do?